Course Overview

Managing Editor

Elisha Medina-Ghallager

Course Section Editors

Maura Kennedy, MD
Jessica Colburn, MD

Program Guidelines


As an accredited provider of Continuing Medical Education, The American Geriatrics Society continuously strives to ensure that the educational activities planned and conducted by our faculty meet generally accepted ethical standards as codified by the ACCME, the Food and Drug Administration, and the American Medical Association’s Guide for Gifts to Physicians. To this end, we have implemented a process wherein everyone who is in a position to control the content of an educational activity has disclosed to us all relevant financial relationships with any commercial interests within the past 12 months as related to the content of their presentations and under which we work to resolve any real or apparent conflicts of interest. Conflicts of interest in this particular CME activity have been resolved by having the presentation content independently peer-reviewed before publication by the Section Editors, Editorial Board and the Chief Editors.

The following contributors (and/or their spouses/partners) have reported real or apparent conflicts of interest that have been resolved through a peer review content validation process:

Jane Mahoney, MD
Dr. Mahoney is an Author/Royalty holder in Stepping On Leader Manual (Freiburg publishing).

Michael Malone, MD
Dr. Malone receives consulting fees which, are paid to his employer, from West Health Foundation and Institute for Healthcare improvement. Dr. Malone receives grant funding from the John A. Hartford Foundation, West Health Institute and, Bader Philanthropies. Dr. Malone’s spouse has inherited shares from – Abbott Labs and Abbvie.

The following contributors have returned disclosure forms indicating that they (and/or their spouses/partners) have no affiliation with, or financial interest in, any commercial interest that may have direct interest in the subject matter of their chapters/questions:

  • Kanwal Awan, MD
  • Jin Han, MD, MSc
  • Teresita Hogan, MD
  • Jennifer Koehl, PharmD, BCPS
  • Pamela Martin, FNP-BC, APRN GS-C
  • Philip Magidson, MD, MPH
  • Michelle Moccia, DNP, ANP-BC, CCRN, GS-C
  • Anthony Rosen, MD, MPH
  • Martine Sanon, MD
  • Christina Shenvi, MD, PhD
  • Michael Wilson, MD, PhD, FAAEM, FACEP